All Saints Babbacombe CofE Primary School

All Saints Babbacombe CofE Primary School

Interactive bar

Google Services



What does your child learn at school each day? Find information about our curriculum subjects here.

If parents would like to learn more about the National Curriculum, please click here.


Early Years and Foundation Stage(EYFS)

Class R follows a different curriculum from the rest of the school. It is divided into 7 prime areas that are then broken into different aspects. You'll see these areas identified in the table below.

These areas are taught in the classroom through a variety of class, small group and directed activities. The teacher uses observations to help asses pupils and identify their next steps. If you'd like to learn more about the EYFS curriculum please read the document below.

KS1 Phonics and Reading:

In KS1 we follow an in house phonics program developed around 'Letters and Sounds'. Letters and Sounds is a phonics resource published by the Department for Education and Skills. It aims to build children's speaking and listening skills in their own right as well as to prepare children for learning to read by developing their phonic knowledge and skills. It sets out a detailed and systematic programme for teaching phonic skills for children starting by the age of five, with the aim of them becoming fluent readers by age seven. 


Find a copy of letters and sounds below:


To further support phonics and reading we have invested in a variety of reading schemes, including Oxford Reading Tree, Reading Planet - Rocket Phonics and Phonics Bug. These books are banded into bands that children progress through as their phonic understanding and reading improves.

Words for Life - Milestones, tips, book recommendations and free activities for 5 to 7 year old's.


Finding Out More:


If parents would like to find out more about the National Curriculum please visit this following page:


Click here for the Early Years and Foundation Stage (Class R)


Click here for the Keys Stage 1(Class 1 and 2) and Key Stage 2(Class 3,4,5 and 6) National Curriculum.




School Motto

Living, loving and learning forever; being the best you can be as we journey together

Mission Statement

Love, Joy, Courage, Forgiveness, Respect and Hope